The Twin Arrows Trading post, originally Padre Canyon Trading Post, was built on the 1937 Route 66 alignment. In 1955 the Troxell Family built the iconic wooden arrows in the parking lot to guide motorists to the trading post's doors. The post included a gas station, gift shop, and a Valentine diner.
Interstate 40 around Flagstaff was completed circa 1968. After the completion of Interstate 40, the Twin Arrows Trading Post lost business because motorists no longer had to take Route 66. Along with the interstate, cultural tastes also changed away from kitschy roadside attractions. The trading post fell into decline. The Twin Arrows Trading Post passed through the hands of various owners until 1995 it when it was finally closed and abandoned. The remains of Twin Arrows Trading post near Flagstaff, Arizona still exist on historic Route 66, now an exit from Interstate 40.
The Hopi Tribe, the current owner of Twin Arrows, has great hopes for the property. Volunteers repaired and painted the arrows in 2011.
Images captured in 2007.
Twin Arrows history article.